For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!

The study, commissioned by European Parliament’s Policy Department for Citizens’ Rights and Constitutional Affairs at the request of the LIBE Committee, deals with the practices and approaches in all EU Member States concerning the prevention and eradication of statelessness. It was carried out by Katja Swider, PhD fellow at ACELG, in cooperation with Prof. Gerard-René de Groot (Maastricht University) and Dr. Olivier VONK (Maastricht University and University of Liège).

The central research question of the study was to determine the conditions under which stateless persons residing in the EU have access to European citizenship. For that purpose the different national practices were assessed in light of the relevant international and European standards.

Comparative analysis shows that the standards of protection against statelessness differ considerably between the Member States, leading to the violation of international and European norms. Since proper mechanisms to identify stateless populations are lacking in a majority of Member States, the study addresses the procedures used in determining statelessness and suggests different reasons why the objectives related to the protection and identification of statelessness can best be achieved at the EU level.